The Finest Choice of Holiday Cottages

History and Heritage Back to map view

Leiston Abbey

Dating as far back as the 14th Century, Leiston Abbey will wow history and English heritage enthusiasts with its impressive architectural remains. Striking out through Suffolk grain fields, the Abbey holds some of its original building from 1182. The Abbey was founded in Minsmere by Ranulf de Glanville, Lord Justice to Henry II, and later transferred to Leiston in 1363 where its patron, Robert de Ufford, devoted his final years continuing to build around its original feature. The abbey was then used by House of Augustinian Canons Regular, who followed the Premondtrlension rule. You'll enter the site through a 16th Century gatehouse, later find the magnificent transept arch, then discover the impressive 14-meter high crossing, one of very few that remain. The Abbey offers beautiful grounds, is free to enter and dogs are allowed in providing they are kept on a lead. Follow the link below to discover holiday cottages in Leiston and surrounding areas. 

View Cottages Nearby