Southwold Concert Series

Published: Wednesday 12th Sep 2012

Written by: Suffolk Secrets Team

September sees the start of the anticipated Southwold Concert Series continuing on until May 25th 2013. Southwold has long been an inspiration for outstanding music. The success of one-off concerts in his hometown, prompted composer and pianist Nathan Williamson to found the Southwold Concert Series in 2008.  Concerts are held in St Edmund’s Church, a beautiful, acoustically fine, 15th century edifice in the centre of the town.

Here is a selection of their upcoming events:

Saturday 22nd September 2012, 7:30pm: The Park Quartet  Haydn – String Quartet in G major, op.33 no.5  Elizabeth Maconchy – String Quartet no.5 (1948) Dvorak – String Quartet in F major, op.96, ‘American’

Saturday 3rd November 2012, 3:00pm: Duo Recital Anna Cashell, violin; Simon Watterton, piano  Handel – Sonata in D major, op.1 no.13  Mozart – Sonata in E minor, K.304 Malcolm Arnold – Five pieces, op.84 Elgar – Salut d’amour, La Capricieuse, Chanson du Matin Schumann – Sonata in D minor, op.121

Saturday 1st December 2012, 7:30pm: Christmas Choral Extravaganza – Handel’s Messiah Elinor Jane Moran, soprano Simon Ponsford, alto  Lawrence Olsworth-Peter, tenor Andri Bjorn Rovertsson, boss Drew Cantril, organ Saint Felix Choral Society – Andrew Jenkins, conductor

Saturday 8th December 2012, 7:30pm: Christmas Cabaret Extravaganza  Elinor Jane Moran and Olivia Castle, sopranos  Richard Knight, tenor  Marc Callahan, baritone  Nathan Williamson, piano and organ Saint Felix Choral Society, Andrew Jenkins, conductor

Saturday 9th February 2013, 3:00pm: The Lawson TrioMozart – Trio in C major, K.548 Anthony Powers – Piano Trio Shostakovitch – Trio no.1 in C minor, opt.8  Brahms – Trio no.2 in C major, op.87

Saturday 16th March 2013, 3.00pm: "Bach, Britten, and Brahms"  Alexander Somov, cello; Nathan Williamson piano  Bach – French Suite no.5 in G major, BWV 816  Britten – Suite no.3 for solo cello, op.87  Brahms – Sonata in F major for piano and cello, op.99

Saturday 25th May 2013, 7:30pm: 'The Ministry of Angels’- The Society of Strange and Ancient Instruments  Clara Sanabras – voice, oud, guitars  Clare Salaman – hurdy gurdy, nyckelharpa  Joy Smith – harps dulcimer, percussion  Tickets are just £12.00 which includes interval refreshments. On December 1st & 8th children aged 16 come absolutely free! To enjoy a cottage break during the Southwold Concert Series, visit the Southwold page for a great selection of holiday homes with something to suit every budget and taste.


Suffolk Secrets Team



Return to blog article index